Jaipur Lit Fest 2011

Whoa. This is a big one for me, and thank to my sweetest, wonderfulest, and most thoughtful friend Suzy Q, I am off with a gaggle of equally excited ladies, to ogle, stare and inhale the rarefied air that literature inhabits.

The countdown is on and we are off tomorrow. So like a good girl I did most of my packing a few days ago. My biggest worry was – you guessed it – the clothes. But found a lot of nice stuff (surprise, surprise) in my closet after all, and can now breathe easy. After all, it’s not every day that you get to rub shoulders with the glitterati of the literary world, right?

Because the list of authors who will attend is pretty impressive. And I can’t wait to hear them speak, read, breathe!

J.M. Coetzee is the biggest catch this year. Ok, I haven’t read his books, but he’s a nobel prize winner, so that’s enough to be excited about, isn’t it?

Who I am excited about is Orhan Pamuk (another huge name and Nobel prize winner whose book Istanbul I have read), Hamid Rashid (The Reluctant Fundamentalist), Gurcharan Das (love his column in the Times), Candace Bushness (Sex and The City), Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni (Palace of Illusions), CP Surendran (writes caustically for the Crest), Gulzar, Javed Akhtar, Jung Chang (Wild Swans), Kiran Desai (The Inheritance of Loss, which I haven’t read, but want to), Liaquat Ahamed (winner of the 2010 Pulitzer prize for History for his book: Lords of Finance and on my must-read list), Mahmood Farooqui (co-director of Peepli Live), M.J. Akbar, Pallavi Iyer (Smoke and Mirrors: An experience of China), Prasoon Joshi, Ruskin Bond, SH Raza, Sunil Sethi (host of Just Books, the weekly literary show on NDTV), Tarun Tejpal, Tishani Doshi (The Pleasure Seekers), Vikram Seth and William Dalrymple. I will sadly be missing Sarita Mandanna (Tiger Hills) and Namita Devidayal (The Music Room) as they will be there on the last day, which is when I leave to come back home.

There are of course a whole horde of other authors, journalists and acclaimed types, but whose work I am not familiar with.

Hopefully, that will change 🙂

4 thoughts on “Jaipur Lit Fest 2011

  1. Ok pixi I am trying very hard to feel happy for you and NOT and soooooo jealous !!!!! :))))) you lucky girl… have the best time my dear friend .. and I’ll be waiting to hear ALL the details .

Leave a Reply

