home made Gift Wrap

A few days ago I needed to buy some gift wrapping paper – another birthday looming ahead this week-end. Not that I’m complaining – where would I be without all these lovely birthdays to celebrate!?

So anyway, fed up with the shiny, cheap paper I get at the (not-so) friendly neighbourhood stationery store and too busy to go buy some nice paper from a fancy store – read Crossword – I thought I’d use newspaper and the kids πŸ˜‰ Β and some sequins and craft stuff lying around the house, to wrap the gift. Which was Connect, a game which came in a nice, rectangular box. Easy to pack – thank god.

sequined newspaper gift wrap. click on the picture for a more detailed view

name tags

I may not be the best gift wrapper (as you can see), but that doesn’t stop me from trying. The kids had fun and they were involved in the entire gift thing. Which is another point. I rarely take them along to buy the gift because:

a. where’s the time?
b. they start fussing for toys

So it was nice for them to ‘do’ something for the birthday girl. We used fevicol to get the sequins to stick – regular glue has them falling off in no time. I had some little wooden dogs and pigs (my sister bought these for the kids from Canada), satiny hearts and a little mauve doll that we fevicoled on. I finished it off by wrapping it in clear cellophane paper and wrapping pink ribbon around the four sides of the box, as Ishaan said he can ‘see too much newspaper’. I hope she liked it. Better than shiny, cheap paper at least.

Now I’m on a DIY gift wrapping trip. Check this video out for a nice way to use newspaper.

Another cute idea I chanced upon which got me very excited, was to make up a ‘treasure box’ of small, exciting little presents. Maybe a book, some stationary, a bottle of slime/vanishing ink, something my kids make for their friend, the ubiquitous candy. Finding the right box is going to be the challenge.

Wracking my brain to see if there is a way to pack the main gift (eg. a game) with a few other small, but fun things – preferably hidden inside the wrapping or in little pockets off the main wrapper. Some surprise element that brings that ‘wow’ feeling to the entire thing. Help if you have any ideas!

On that note, am also toying with the idea of persuading a few of my (more crafty savvy) friends to share their gift-wrapping successes with us. Fingers crossed… Β  πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “home made Gift Wrap

  1. I am so bad at wrapping gifts….i mean really bad! Once, when i handed a gift to somone’s child that i had wrapped, the mother told me it was a lovely idea to get it wrapped by another child πŸ™‚ Anway, marthastewart.com always has great craft ideas – check out how to make animal birthday balloons. Super cute and super easy!

    • haha..thats funny πŸ™‚ and quite true for me too. why do you think I’m getting the kids to help? πŸ˜‰ thanks for the marthastewart tip. will definitely check out.

  2. Hi Zainab,
    thought I was the only one recycling used carton boxes to make them into gift boxes. Just last weekend I got Chinmay to paint a carton box to wrap a gift to his cousin. Finally they were fighting over the box, rather than the gift. πŸ™‚

    • You were always on my hit list Mamta πŸ˜‰ I knew you would have already done some super stuff. Did you take a picture of the box?? I hope so! And if you haven’t – now you know what to do in the future πŸ™‚ Lastly, where do u get these carton boxes? I am looking for one right now…

  3. I LOVE this idea !!! I too am one of those that hates to spend on expensive and many times gaudy giftwrapping that we get in the store thses days ! This is an excellent way to be eco friendly and recycle newspaper lying around at home . well done πŸ™‚ I am lookinh fwd to trying this out soon.

Leave a Reply

